WCSU Graduate Catalog 2020-21


Connecticut State University System

The Connecticut State University System reaches throughout the state with major campuses in four metropolitan centers – – Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, Eastern Connecticut State University in Willimantic, Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, and Western Connecticut State University in Danbury – – and it enrolls over 36,000 students.

The origins of the Connecticut State University System date back to 1849 with the founding of a school for teachers in New Britain. During their distinguished history, the campuses have evolved from normal schools to teachers’ colleges to multipurpose state colleges, and, finally, to universities. Today, after 150 years of growth and development, the four campuses of the Connecticut State University System are thoroughly diversified institutions. Among their alumni are physicians, teachers, lawyers, dentists, nurses, clergy, businesspeople, journalists, scholars, librarians, artists, and a host of other professionals. The graduates of the campuses of the Connecticut State University System contribute to all aspects of Connecticut economic, social, and cultural life.

The governance of the Connecticut State University System is the responsibility of a 15 member Board of Regents. Thirteen of the Regents are appointed by the Governor and legislative leaders, and two are students elected to the Board by their classmates. The President of the Connecticut State University System is responsible for the administration of the system. Each campus is given a considerable measure of autonomy and functions under the leadership of a president.

Board of Regents for Connecticut State University System

Matt Fleury, Chair, Hartford Merle W. Harris, West Hartford
Richard J. Balducci, Deep River Holly Howery, Bristol
Aviva Budd, Stamford David R. Jimenez, Hartford
Naomi K. Cohen, Bloomfield JoAnn Ryan, Torrington
Felice Gray-Kemp, Hamden Elease E. Wright, Hartford
David Blitz, Deidre S. Gorman,
Miguel A. Cardona, Meridan Colena Sesanker,
David Lehman, Hartford Kurt Westby, Wethersfield

Administrative Officers – Connecticut State University System

Mark E. Ojakian, President
Jane Gates, Provost and Senior Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs
Elsa Nunez, Vice President for State Universities
Benjamin Barnes, Chief Financial Officer
Joseph Tolisano, Chief Information Officer
Erin Fitzgerald, Associate Director of Board Affairs






Connecticut State University System Office
39 Woodland Street • Hartford, Connecticut 06105-2337