Undergraduate Catalog 14-16

Connecticut State Colleges & Universities

Connecticut State Colleges & Universities

The 17 Connecticut State Colleges & Universities (ConnSCU) provide affordable, innovative and rigorous programs that permit students to achieve their personal and career goals, as well as contribute to the economic growth of Connecticut. The ConnSCU System encompasses four state universities – Western Connecticut State University in Danbury, Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, Eastern Connecticut State University in Willimantic and Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven – as well as 12 community colleges and the online institution Charter Oak State College.

Until the state’s higher education reorganization of 2011, Western was a member of the former Connecticut State Unviersity System that also encompassed Central, Eastern and Southern Connecticut state universities. With origins in normal schools for teacher education founded in the 19th and early 20th centuries, these institutions evolved into diversified state universities whose graduates have pursued careers in the professions, business, education, public service, the arts and other fields. Graduates of Western and other state universities contribute to all aspects of Connecticut economic, social and cultural life.

In April 2011, Gov. Dannel P. Malloy and the Connecticut legislature unveiled a plan to consolidate the management of higher education. Specifically, they created a Board of Regents for Higher Education which replaced the governance structures for the Connecticut State University System (CSUS), the Connecticut Community Colleges, Charter Oak State College and the Board of Governors for Higher Education. The transition from the CSUS Board of Trustees to the Board of Regents occurred between July 1 and December 31, 2011.

Governance of the CSCU System is the responsibility of the Board of Regents for Higher Education, which comprises 20 appointments: nine by the governor (including the selection of one of his appointees as the chair), four by legislative leaders, two student representatives, and five ex-officio, non-voting members (commissioners of the departments of Economic and Community Development, Public Health, Education and Labor and the chair of the Faculty Advisory Committee).

CSCU leadership team works with the campus leaders, faculty and staff to help increase the educational attainment of Connecticut’s adult population. All 17 college and university presidents report directly to the Board of Regents president, who reports to the Board of Regents for Higher Education. CSCU senior staff provide additional support and guidance for both the board and member institutions.

Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education

Nicholas M. Donofrio, Chair, Ridgefield

Yvette Melendez, Vice Chair, South Glastonbury

Richard J. Balducci, Deep River

Eugene L. Bell, Gateway Community College student

Naomi K. Cohen, Bloomfield

Lawrence DeNardis, Hamden

Matt Fleury, Hartford

Sarah Greco, Southern Connecticut State University student

Merle W. Harris, West Hartford

Gary F. Holloway, New Canaan

Craig Lappen, Manchester

Rene Lerer, Avon

JoAnn H. Price, Avon

Jewel Mullen (ex-officio), Commissioner of the Department of Public Health

Sharon Palmer (ex-officio), Commissioner of the Department of Labor

Stefan Pryor (ex-officio), Commissioner of the Department of Education

Catherine Smith (ex-officio), Commissioner of the Department of Economic and Community Development

Stephen Adair (ex-officio), Chair of the Faculty Advisory Committee to the Board of Regents


CSCU Leadership

Gregory W. Gray, President of the Board of Regents

Michael Gargano, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs

Elsa Nunez, Vice President for State Universities

David L. Levinson, Vice President for Community Colleges

Elizabeth Caswell, Chief of Staff

Keith Epstein, Vice President for Facilities, Real Estate and Infrastructure Planning

Laurie Dunn, Interim Vice President for Human Resources

Erika H. Steiner, Chief Financial Officer

Joe Tolisano, Chief Information Officer

Ernestine Y. Weaver, Counsel

Gail Coppage, Director of Innovation and Outreach

Ted Yungclas, Principal Academic Affairs Officer

Michael Kozlowski, Director of Public Affairs and Marketing

Erin Fitzgerald, Associate Director for Board Affairs

Kyle Thomas, Legislative Program Manager


Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education
39 Woodland Street • Hartford, Connecticut 06105