Undergraduate Catalog 2017-18

Student Expenses

Student Expenses

As part of the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities System, Western Connecticut State University offers high-quality degree programs at a reasonable cost. Details of expenses for full-time and part-time, in-state and out-of-state students appear below.

A full-time student is defined as one who has been accepted as a degree candidate by the Admission Office and enrolled for 12 or more semester hours. A part-time student is one who is enrolled for fewer than 12 semester hours of course load credit. All students, when they register, must inform the registration clerk that they are either full-time or part-time.

The schedules of fees, tuition, methods of payment and refund policies provided below are valid at the time of publication of this catalog and are subject to change.

2018-2019 Full-Time Undergraduate Annual Expenses

In-State Out-of-State
Tuition * $5,642 $16,882
Fees ** 5,177 6445
Housing (dorm double) *** 7,605 7,605
Meal Plan (required for Midtown dorm students) 5,467 5,467
Sub Total 23,891 36,399
Estimated Books & Supplies 750 750
Total 24,641 37,149


In addition to textbooks, students must furnish their own notebooks, writing implements and art supplies. Students should also be prepared to pay for field trips and regional study tours since these activities are an integral part of the education program.

* Full-time students will be charged $512 per credit hour for each credit hour over 18 credits at the course fee rate. This fee is non-refundable.

** Students are charged a $50 lab fee for each astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, meteorology and physics course registration. Students are charged a $50 art studio fee for each art studio class registration and new incoming students charged a one-time $30 transcript fee.

Full-time students enrolled in the following programs are assessed an additional program fee per semester:

Nursing program $396, Music program $150, Music Theatre program $150, Theatre program $350, Art program $150, Art program $50.

All students taking applied music lessons pay $150–$600 per course, per semester.

*** See Office of Residence Life for a complete list of room rates.


Nonrefundable Binder and Housing Deposit

  • Admissions Binder: $200 due May 1, or within 15 days of billing. Payment will be applied to state university tuition. The admissions binder may be transferred from Western Connecticut State University to other constituent units of the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities System(CCSU, ECSU, SCSU).  Enrollment in another unit must occur within 60 days of the beginning of the semester for which the binder was paid to Western Connecticut State University. Students requesting transfer should notify the Admissions Office of the institution they will be attending.
  • Housing Deposit:  $250 due within 15 days billing.


Payment of Tuition and Fees

Payment due dates:

  • Fall Semester : Payment is due July 15th
  • Spring Semester: Payment is due December 15th
  • Summer, Winter Intersession, Spring Break: Payment is due upon registration

Failure to pay tuition and fees by the  due date are subject to late payment penalties. A financial hold may be placed on your account restricting course registration and transcript requests. Students that fail to make payment or payment arrangements (filing for financial aid and completing requirements or enrolling in a payment plan) may be subject to class cancellation due to nonpayment. If your classes are cancelled due to nonpayment, to be reinstated payment of a $100.00 non-refundable re-registration fee plus your original account balance in full is required, availability of your original class schedule is not guaranteed.

Students may pay tuition and fees online at online at www.wcsu.edu/EZpay using a checking or savings account or via credit.debit card. MasterCard, Visa,  Discover and American Express are accepted. Students who choose to pay with a credit card are subject to a 2.75%/$3 minimum convenience fee.  There is no fee to pay via e-check using your checking or savings account.

Re-registration Fee

Any student who is dropped for non-payment and wishes to re-register will be subject to a $100 nonrefundable re-registration fee and re-registration into classes is not guaranteed.

Late Fee

A $50 late fee will be assessed to accounts that fail to pay the balance due or make payment arrangements ( financial aid or enrolling in a payment plan) by the payment deadline.


Refund Policy

A. Full Time Students:

Nonrefundable fees include the application fee, admissions binder, housing deposit, registration fee, online fee and payment plan fee. In order to be eligible for a refund, a full-time student must formally withdraw from the university.  NON ATTENDANCE OF CLASSES DOES NOT ENTITLE STUDENTS TO A CREDIT ON THEIR TUITION AND FEE BILL. A refund of tuition, university and student activity fees, and the balance of the housing fee, excluding binder and deposit, will be issued according to the schedule below. The refund amount is determined by the official date of withdrawal.

  •         Prior to the first day of classes:
100% refund
  •         Within the first week of the semester:
90% refund
  •         Within the second week of the semester:
60% refund
  •         Within the third and fourth weeks of the semester:
40% refund
  •         No refund will be made after the fourth week of university-wide classes.

NOTE:  The university is not allowed to make exceptions to the refund policy.


Housing refund policy for students who withdraw from the university

Upon withdrawal from the university prior to the first day of university-wide classes, 100% of the balance paid less the housing deposit will be refunded. Terms for partial refunds are:

90% of the balance, less the housing deposit, will be refunded during the first week of university-wide classes,

60% of the balance, less the housing deposit, will be refunded during the second week of university-wide classes,

40% of the balance, less the housing deposit, will be refunded during the third and fourth weeks of university-wide classes,

No refunds will be made after the fourth week of university-wide classes.

Housing refund policy for students who withdraw from housing but remain enrolled in the university

Upon withdrawal from university housing and up to and including May 31, 100% of the housing charges, less the housing deposit, will be removed from the student’s account.

No refunds will be made for students who withdraw from housing on or after June 1 (academic year) or December 1 (spring term for those students who plan to enter housing for the first time in spring), unless otherwise approved through the Housing Office Appeal Committee.

Meal plan refund

This fee is refundable on a pro-rated basis upon withdrawal from the university.

Refund policy for students receiving Title IV assistance

Both full-time and part-time students who formally withdraw from the university and are recipients of Title IV funds need to contact the Office of  Financial Aid & Student Employment at mailto:wcsufinancialaid@wcsu.edu or at 203- 837.8580 to discuss the impact withdrawing will have on their financial aid award.  Non-attendance, stop attending or withdrawing from classes may have an impact on a student’s financial aid award which may result in a balance due to the university.


2018-2019 Part-Time Undergraduate Tuition on campus and online

Tuition (In-state/out of state/NE Regional) $235 per credit hour
General Fee (in-state/out of state NE Regional) $277 per credit hour
Total per credit hour
$512 per credit hour
Registration Fee 
$60 (per semester, non-refundable)
Online  Fee $50 per online course (non-refundable)


Students may pay for part-time tuition and fees by cash, check, money order or credit card (MasterCard, Visa, Discover and American Express). Students who choose to pay with a credit card are subject to a 2.75%/ $3 minimum convenience fee. There is no fee to pay via e-check using your checking or savings account.

Refund Policy for Part-time Students Fall and Spring Semesters – Courses greater than eight weeks in length.

In order to receive a credit on your tuition and fee bill, part-time students must formally withdraw from class(es) through the Registrar’s Office. Non- attendance of classes does not automatically entitle students to a credit on their bill.


A tuition refund for part-time students withdrawing from classes will be issued on the following basis:

Withdrawal during first week of the semester: 100% refund
Withdrawal during second week of the semester: 60% refund
Withdrawal during the third and fourth week of the semester: 40% refund

No refunds are issued after the fourth week of the semester. The $60 registration fee is non-refundable. The university is not allowed to make exceptions to the refund policy.

Connecticut Resident Senior Citizen Waiver

Any Connecticut resident 62 or over who is a full-time student is exempted from the state tuition charge and the state university fee. All other fees are not waived.  Senior citizens attending the university as part-time students pay a $60 nonrefundable registration fee, student activity fee, lab fee and transcript fee when taking any continuing education courses.Senior citizens must be Connecticut residents and show proof of residency. Acceptable forms of identification needed to verify residency are:

  • Connecticut driver’s license or
  • Current automobile registration or
  • Federal and state income tax return

Foreign Exchange Policy

Western Connecticut State University settles all accounts in U.S. dollars and assumes no liability for losses that may result from foreign exchange rate differences under any circumstances. In the event of an error to a student’s account, Western Connecticut State University’s liability is limited to the correction of the error in U.S. dollars.

Student Insurance Requirements

Accident Insurance: As part of the general fee, all full-time students are covered under an accident insurance plan, from August 1 to July 31 or until full-time enrollment is terminated during this period. Benefits under the accident plan are paid on an excess basis. This means no expense is covered if it would be covered by another health care plan in the absence of this insurance. This insurance supplements, but does not replace, other health care coverage.

Sickness Insurance: WCSU does not bill full time students for sickness insurance. Any full time student that needs health insurance may want to evaluate health care options via Access Health CT, Connecticut’s health insurance exchange or, if you are not a CT resident, at Healthcare.gov. You can contact Access Health CT online at AccessHealthCT.com or via telephone at 855-354-2428. An optional Aetna-sponsored Health Insurance Program may also be available for students to enroll on a voluntary basis. To obtain more information about this plan at the Aetna Student web page visit their website at www.aetnastudenthealth.com/wcsu.

New England Regional Student Program

Western participates in the New England Regional Student Program of the New England Board of Higher Education. This arrangement offers residents of the other New England states the opportunity to enroll at Western for Connecticut resident tuition rates (plus $2,400 per year) in courses not available in their home states. Similarly, Connecticut residents may avail themselves of programs offered by schools in other New England states that are not available at Connecticut State Universities.

Detailed information about the Regional Program can be obtained through the Office of University Admissions at Western, from any secondary school guidance office, or from the New England Board of Higher Education, 45 Temple Place, Boston, MA 02111 or by calling (617) 357-9620.

New England Regional Program at Western

Bachelor Degree Programs Open to Residents of:
American Studies Rhode Island, Vermont
Communication Maine
Health Promotion Studies (Community Health Option) New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
Justice and Law Administration (Criminology Option) Rhode Island
Earth Science (Astronomy focus) Rhode Island, Vermont
Health Education Vermont
Meteorology Maine, Rhode Island